Mew - No More Stories...

by B. J. Eakin on Jul 31, 2009 at 3:11 PM
R&R Engage (0)


Mew - No More Stories Are Told Today

I did not think they could do it again, but with Mew's fifth LP, No More Stories... (to be released August 25th - fully titled No More Stories / Are Told Today / I'm Sorry / They Washed Away // No More Stories / The World Is Grey / I'm Tired / Let's Wash Away), they just got me all frazzled with joy.  With this recent addition they have absolutely solidified their place on my favorite artists list.

Like Radiohead, the Mars Volta, or Modest Mouse, Mew creates different music than what's being put out there.    Let me put an emphasis on music; it is not just undiscernible crap that many wanna-be "artists" throw together -- this sounds good (which, in my opinion, is an important task of the artist).  Further, Jonas Bjerre's vocal style is unpretentious, which allows the music to speak for itself.  This has been a trend for them since their third album, Frengers, and they continue it with No More Stories...  I just want to give those Danish guys a big hug.

So let's get started --> after the "New Terrain" they blast out with a rhythmic giant called "Introducing Palace Players" that I have even a hard time catching up with the progression of the song because it is so unorthodox.  I am sure I have been caught dancing to this song in my car already by a couple elderly ladies, but who cares, it's so worth it!  With that, the stage has been set for the rest of the album.  If you fail to listen to the rest of the album, I would go ahead and buy at least this one on Itunes.

There are the ebbs and flow of high energy and somberness in the rest of the album.  However, one of the flaws of the album is that there is a potential lull that can scare the normal listener away.  However, this type of softer music is not foreign to them, specifically with songs like "White Lips Kissed" (with Japanese version: "Shiroi Kuchibiru No Izanai" [it's so good!]) and "A Dark Design" from And The Glass Handed Kites, or "Comforting Sounds" from 2003's Frengers.  These songs in the middle of the album are very good but I do wish that they were separated up a little bit more from each other.

One of the major differences in style from their earlier work is the presence of an early 80's style synthesizer (forgive my lack of instrumental knowledge) that you would hear in a television drama, specifically featured in "Dream" and "Tricks".  It adds character to their style that I have not heard from them before.  Also included are three different interlude tracks; which are interesting I suppose but do not add anything to the work as a whole in my opinion.  

Finally the album closes with "Sometimes Life Isn't Easy" which parallels "Introducing..." in dance-worthiness.  It is a close second to the best song on the CD.  Both this song and "...Palace Players" are catchy enough to be on the radio yet would have to cut the prologues off before-hand because they are somewhat confusing.  Either way, it is a good way to frame the album.

So to conclude, the album is very pleasing- maybe even one of their best.  


Mew - "Introducing Palace Players" - Video


vist Mew


look at MewFace

pick up No More Stories EP on iTunes


Mew is:

Jonas Bjerre
Bo Madsen
Silas Graae


No More Stories/Are Told Today/I'm Sorry/They Washed Away//No More Stories/The World Is Grey/I'm Tired/Let's Wash Away - Track List:

01. "New Terrain" (3:14)
02. "Introducing Palace Players" (4:46)
03. "Beach" (2:46)
04. "Repeaterbeater" (2:33)
05. "Intermezzo 1" (0:29)
06. "Silas the Magic Car" (4:06)
07. "Cartoons and Macramé Wounds" (7:21)
08. "Hawaii Dream" (1:47)
09. "Hawaii" (5:01)
10. "Vaccine" (5:08)
11. "Tricks" (4:28)
12. "Intermezzo 2" (1:03)
13. "Sometimes Life Isn’t Easy" (5:21)
14. "Reprise" (5:32)

No More Stories EP - Track List:

1. "Introducing Palace Players"   4:46
2. "Repeaterbeater"   2:33
3. "Owl (B-side)"   1:18
4. "Start (B-side)"   2:00
5. "Swimmer's Chant (B-side)"   3:25

0 R&R Engage comments to “Mew - No More Stories...”

R&R Engage Comments

Leave this field empty:

Copyright 2008-2020 ROCK & REVIEW: "The internet's fastest growing Music News & Review site featuring new and notable artists, world-wide music news, photos, videos, reviews, concert dates, industry events, automotive, mobile and home audio gadgets and technology."
Powered by SITEiNK. RSS Feeds