N.E.R.D's Nothing (4th Studio Album)

by B. J. Eakin on Oct 26, 2010 at 9:48 PM
R&R Engage (0)

NERD Band Members

N.E.R.D is back with... Nothing - that is, their fourth studio album - not empty handed.  All bad puns aside, the album is good.  The trio has seemed grow up and matured their sound with this recent installment. 

The majority of the tracks are chill and grooving.  A lot different from the days of "Lapdance" from In Search Of and even that of Seeing Sounds of 2008 (which is some good stuff in itself).  Album four could almost be classified under R&B.  Pharell has some R&B style vocals that are shown through the majority of the work.  Typically I HATE R&B, but this is an exception.  You will hear a lot of the minor key singing though, as of the old time.

Some people may not like this direction; parting from the raw, dirty sound.  Looking at the song titles, I think that the band may have experienced some religious influence.  Just a guess with names like "God Bless Us All," "Sacred Temple," "Victory," "I've Seen the Light."  Supposedly, I knew someone who met them on their radio-show and they asked what a good church to go to on the coming Sunday.  But looking at the lyrics, maybe they were inspired by religious themes and adopted them to hot-ladies.  They have always been so sexually charged, so I seriously doubt the change.  But who knows?!

However, they do throw a couple songs out there with featured artists like Nelly Furtado and T.I.  "Hot-N-Fun" and "Party People" do have the heavy baselines from the past N.E.R.D sound and attitude.  But they kind of are different from the rest of the album.  I assume that this was implemented by record producers to give the album more buyer-allure.  They have supposedly been leaked to the internet a few months ago, so you may be familiar with them.  I am actually not that impressed with these songs.

"Nothing On You" is one of the best songs - upbeat and fun - but most of all it is something different and cool.  I guess that is why they titled the album as they did.  "Hypnotize U" is a stunning, ambient love-groove that will probably be many music-savvy people's love-makin' music - very cool.  "I've Seen the Light" is single worthy as well.  I really do not have complaints with the rest of the album, besides that it can seem slightly repetitive.  Although I am loving the retro trumpets that frequent these tracks.

Overall I would give this a 7.6 our of 10.0.  These guys have been so influential for years since their time as the Neptunes.  Definitely some high expectations - but they usually meet them.  I feel this is an upgrade from Seeing Sounds - maybe my favorite work as a whole from them.  Enjoy it!  It will be released November 2nd, 2010 -- preorder on Itunes or the N.E.R.D. Shop.  In the mean time, play around on their site, it is a lot of fun!



N.E.R.D (No-one Ever Really Dies) is:

Pharell Williams, Chad Hugo, Shay Haley

N.E.R.D Band Pic


Hot-N-Fun Official Video

Look around on there.  There is a bunch of remixes posted already.  Pretty cool.

I think this one sounds better than the oringial!


Nothing [Deluxe Edition] Tracklist:

  • "Party People" (feat. T.I.)
  • "Hypnotize U"
  • "Help Me"
  • "Victory"
  • "Perfect Defect"
  • "I’ve Seen the Light" / "Inside of Clouds" (Interlude)
  • "God Bless Us All"
  • "Life as a Fish"
  • "Nothing on You"
  • "Hot-n-Fun" (feat. Nelly Furtado)
  • "It's In the Air"
  • "Sacred Temple"
  • "I Wanna Jam"
  • "The Man"
  • "Fuego" (Bonus Track)

0 R&R Engage comments to “N.E.R.D's Nothing (4th Studio Album)”

R&R Engage Comments

Leave this field empty:

Copyright 2008-2020 ROCK & REVIEW: "The internet's fastest growing Music News & Review site featuring new and notable artists, world-wide music news, photos, videos, reviews, concert dates, industry events, automotive, mobile and home audio gadgets and technology."
Powered by SITEiNK. RSS Feeds